Oct 20, 2012

Updates: Ondo Governorship Election

Due to election in Ondo state today 20/10/2012, FRSC advises motorists from Lagos axis to follow LAGOS- IBADAN-ILESA-EKITI-KABBA-OKENE

12:07 – Voting is underway at some PUs across the state

11:59 – NSCDC Commandant,Shuiab Yisa helped conveyed stranded INEC officials with materials to their centres in Akure South Council

11:56 – Mimiko also said he is optimistic about his chances of victory and expects to be declared winner based on what’s on ground.

11:55 – ACN candidate, Rotimi Akeredolu urges security agents to arrest anybody involved in election rigging and other malpractices.

Report says there is no polling unit in Oke Ogba quaters, behind Ilesha garage, Akure South LGA

11:49 – Tension in Akure as ACN supporters accuse LP of trying to intimidate their members uing policemen

11:46 – Some suspicious persons going to PUs without their voter’s cards have been reportedly arrested by security men.

11:40 – INEC Commissioner Olurode has directed that more electoral staff be sent to polling booths with very large turnout of voters.

11:35 – Shortage of election materials reported in various parts of the state.

11:30 – Unconfirmed report says an ACN agent- Jagunla has been picked at Cherubu in Ward 3 of ileOluji of ileojuji/okeigbo LG nw 4 sharing new N100 notes.

ACN raises alarm over insecurity, irregularities: In a statement issued Saturday in Akure, Ondo State, by its National Publicity Secretary, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, the party therefore called on INEC officials and security agencies to move fast to rectify the situation.

The party said inadequate security has been reported in many localities in the State, with the worst-hit areas being Idanre and Okitipupa.

“In Idanre, for example, thugs on motorcycles are harassing voters and agents of the opposition. There are also reports of stuffed ballot boxes being moved to polling booths with the protection of Labour Party thugs.

“In Owo, a state government Commissioner has been arrested by soldiers after he was found with weapons. The widespread insecurity has led to apprehension by voters, and there is the need for security agencies to urgently deploy additional security to the affected areas.”

The party lamented the delay in election materials to get to some polling units hours after there were distributed to many polling units across the state.

“Specifically, materials have not been brought to Ese Odo LG Ward 1 Unit 11, as well as Akure South Ward 8 Wofere Unit. Also at both Units, INEC officials have not been sighted. At the Ese Odo LG, Apoi 4, Unit 1, duplicate EC8A was presented

11:02 – Former Ondo state comm of comerce,akingbisile, says there are unconfirmed reports of violence in egbeda, ugbepo

10:53 – INEC officials just arrived and insist accreditation exercise will end by noon!

10:50 – Delay in Arrival of materials: Electoral officers @ Arogbo Area of Ese Odo, say they are still sorting materials

10: 43 – Electoral materials yet to get to many communities in Arogbo Area of Ese Odo

10:36 – Ondo Info commissioner of information says security in his constituency in Idanre is under control

10:30 – some thugs without voters card were reportedly arrested at Onisere Ward 11 but party officials are seeking their release

8 Nat.Commissioners,10 Resident Elec. Commissioners & 8,906 permanent and ad hoc staff are conducting Ondo election

10:10 – Police say Ondo Commissioner for Special Duties Niran Sule-Akinsuyi was not arrested.

10:08 – INEC REC Orebiyi says the commission has achieved 93% deployment of election materials.

10:01 – Accreditation of voters going on now at FUTA, Southgate area.

10:00 – Strict enforcement of the ‘no movement’ order by security agents at Oyemekun road

Ondo State Government says the deputy governor has not resigned.

The Ondo State Government has denied the reports of the arrest of its Special Duties Commissioner and 15 persons other persons.

Large turnout of voters at Ademulegun Irowo polling station in Idanre.

Hon Mayokun alleges that Labour Party of bringing in thugs into Idanre.

9:45 – Accreditation yet to commence in Oke Aro, Akure around Bolajoko Area.

Accreditation is now underway in Akure, the Ondo state capital.

9:39 – Accreditation going on in some parts of the state.

9:31am – no accreditation yet in Akure metropolis…

Large turnout of voters at Ilutuntun, Okitipupa Constituency 1

INEC SMS numbers: 07032492303, 08101774434.

INEC hotlines: For complaints on the election, call 07098115592, 07098117563, 07098114865, 07098115257, 07098110916, 07098116381, 07098115592.

9:15 – Accreditation yet to commence in Akure metropolis.INEC Chairman Attahiru Jega has promised that the results would be announced within 12 hours after voting is concluded.

PDP candidate, Olusola Oke, detained at about 7am He was released after 45 minutes.

8:57: voters are complaining of a total absence of security agents in Igoba and Onisere in AKure North LGA.

Unconfirmed report says ACN people are allegedly distributing N10,000, 6yards of Ankara & packaged kerosene to residents.

8:45: INEC office in Akure packed with men of d Army, Civil Defense, Mobile Police, plain clothed security agents.
-Accreditation yet to commence in Akure metropolis.

7:50am: Accredidation commenced in Akoko SW, Akoko NE with large turnout of voters.

-29mins to accreditation… All materials on ground in most PU in akure city…

-Akure residents in election mood, streets are empty;people are indoors awaiting accreditation.

-INEC officials reportedly stranded at Ojumo, near the boundary with Ekiti state.

-Three additional police commissioners have been posted to Ondo State specially for today’s governorship election.

-Residents express fear over high presence of security agents in Ondo Towns

Thirteen candidates are to contest for the well publicized Ondo state governorship election scheduled for Saturday, 20th October 2012.

Those who are contesting the governorship election are: Oluwarotimi O. Akeredolu Esq, Action Congress of Nigeria; Adeuti Stephen Taiye, Allied Congress Party of Nigeria; Hon. Adeyemi Bolarinwa, All Nigerian Peoples Party; Comr. Oladimeji T. Adegoroye, African Political System; Olaseguri Gbenga Festus, Better Nigeria Peoples Party; Builder Omoyele A. Olurunda, Change Advocacy Party; Prince O. Ehinlanwo, Congress for Progressive Change; Dr. Olusegun Mimiko, Labour Party; Lawrence B. Oladipo, National Conscience Party; Abukanlu James Olusola, National Solidarity Democratic Party; Mr. Adetusin O. Victor, Peoples Democratic Change; Chief Olusola Oke, Peoples Democratic Party; and Omoregha O. Kris, Progressive Peoples Alliance.

One million, six hundred and thirty four thousand, eight hundred and eighty four (1,634,884) eligible voters have been registered by the Commission to take part in the election.